The different types of breast lifts

The different types of breast lifts

The different types of breast lifts

There are a variety of different incision techniques used for breast lift surgery. They are based on your existing breast tissue, the amount of excess skin that needs to be removed and your individual goals for the outcome of the surgery. These types are:

The anchor incision

Also known as the inverted T, it is used to correct considerable sagging and for the dramatic reshaping of the breasts. There are three incisions involved in this technique, and it often results in the worst scarring compared to other techniques. The incisions are: vertically from the base of the areola to the breast crease, another along the breast crease and the last one around the areola. This is one of the oldest techniques and is used in conjunction with a breast reduction.

The crescent lift

This technique is less commonly used. The incision is along the upper part of the areola and is normally done in conjunction with breast augmentation as it is suited for women with minimal sagging. This is because it cannot achieve the same amount of lift as the other techniques.

The lollipop lift

This is also known as the keyhole incision, which is made around the areola edge and another from the areola to the breast crease. The incision creates a ‘lollipop’ shape, which some say is also a ‘keyhole’ shape, and the scars are modest and easily hidden. It is best used to reshape and correct moderate sagging.

The doughnut lift

This technique is able to correct moderate sagging with just a single scar. It is also known as a peri-areola lift. Like the crescent lift, it is often performed with a breast augmentation and it can also reduce the size of the areola. The incision goes along the edge of the areola. 

PREVIOUS How to tell if you should get a breast lift
NEXT How to choose the best surgeon for your breast lift